AusVELS Structure

AusVELS provides a single curriculum for levels F-10 that incorporates the Australian Curriculum as it is progressively developed within a framework that reflects particular Victorian priorities and approaches to teaching and learning.

(F is the abbreviation for ‘Foundation’ which is now the common term agreed to by all States and Territories to refer to the first level of school for curriculum design purposes).



AusVELS is based on the VELS triple-helix structure of three interconnected areas of learning called strands.

The three strands are as follows:

  • Physical, Personal and Social Learning
    Students learn about themselves and their place in society. They learn how to stay healthy and active. Students develop skills in building social relationships and working with others. They take responsibility for their learning, and learn about their rights and responsibilities as global citizens.
  • Discipline-based Learning
    Students learn the knowledge, skills and behaviours in the arts, English, humanities, mathematics, science and other languages.
  • Interdisciplinary Learning
    Students explore different ways of thinking, solving problems and communicating. They learn to use a range of technologies to plan, analyse, evaluate and present their work. Students learn about creativity, design principles and processes.



Domains are distinct bodies of knowledge, skills and behaviours within each strand. The domains within AusVELS that are drawn from the Australian Curriculum learning areas (English, Mathematics, Science and History)



Each of the AusVELS domains is structured by eleven levels associated broadly with the levels of schooling, from Foundation (Prep) to Level 10. The levels represent typical progress of students at key points within the stages of learning. We recognise that each child is special and unique. Our assessment tools allow us to identify each child’s ‘point of need’ and scaffold learning experiences that cater to these needs. So, if your child is a very strong reader, we will identify the learning needs to ensure that they continue to develop at their own rate and not be labelled “a grade 1 reader.”



The school report card shows how far your child has progressed during the year, and compares their performance with the standards expected for students of their age.


Five Educational Principles

  • Learning for all: the belief that all students can learn given sufficient time and support, and that good schools and good teaching make a positive difference.
  • Pursuit of excellence: seeking to accomplish something noteworthy and admirable individually and collectively, and perform at their best.
  • Engagement and effort: acknowledging that student ability is only one factor in achievement, and if students work hard and make an effort they improve.
  • Respect for evidence: seeking understanding and truth through structured inquiry and the application of evidence to test and question beliefs.
  • Openness of mind: being willing to consider a range of different views and consider different ways in which evidence is perceived and solutions can be reached.